There’s 104 days of summer vacation….

Well that’s according to Phineas and Ferb!  Our summer vacation isn’t quite that long but there have been a few occasions when it has felt like 104 days!!

Before the summer holidays started I had a slight panic about how I was going to keep my children entertained for 6 weeks.  I’m sure there are many parents who will know how I was feeling – we all want our children to have the most amazing time and experience fantastic things whenever they can, but to fill every day for the next 6 weeks was a daunting task.  After some research on the web I decided that it just wasn’t going to be feasible to do as much as I had originally thought we could, for a start I still had to work and secondly I am not a millionaire – days out are so expensive!

As the last week of the summer holidays starts, I have taken a bit of time to look back at what we have been able to do over the summer and in all honesty I think we have done a fairly good job of giving the kids a great summer, there have been meals out, trips to the beach and we have had so much fun playing board games in the evenings (something we don’t often have the chance to do during term time), here are some of our other highlights;

On the first weekend of the holidays we visited London with a good friend and her son who is Harry’s best friend.  We went to the Museum of London, saw St. Paul’s Cathedral, watched the street entertainers in Covent Garden, had a walk through Green Park to Buckingham Palace and pulled silly faces at the guards on Horse Guards Parade to try to make them smile.

During the first week we were working so I got together with some other childminders and we went on a Gruffalo hunt.  We found the Gruffalo and his child hiding in the woods.  The kids had a great time, they built dens, climbed trees and used their imagination.  There was not an electrical gaming unit in sight for the whole day and do you know what?  The kids survived!  They became ‘proper’ kids, they got dirty in the mud, they scraped their knees, I took them home shattered and as I tucked my two into their beds that night they told me what a fantastic time they had had.

The next two weeks we were off work and we had our family holiday, this year to Turkey.  We had a fabulous time and it was wonderful to just relax and have fun together.  If you haven’t done so already, please have a look at last week’s post about the wonderful girls that ran the kids’ club in our hotel.

Week four saw the return to work and the holiday blues set in (it wasn’t as bad for me and Mark because we know where we are going next year, but the poor kids were a bit down for a couple of days bless them.) During this week we met up with friends a few times and we also celebrated my birthday.  We gave Abby an early birthday present this week too so that she could use it during the holidays as her birthday is shortly after the new term starts.  My two spent most of the week playing outdoors with the other kids on our street.

Week five was looking like it was going to be a little dull but an impromptu trip to the cinema on Tuesday evening brightened the week up.  We saw Brave (you knew it was going to be a Disney movie didn’t you?!)  We all loved this film and the children thought that the triplets were hilarious.  I was only working a half day on Wednesday, so in the afternoon we headed out and bought new lunch bags ready for school and I treated them both to a new book each, they were so delighted that they smothered me with kisses in the supermarket and nearly knocked me over!  (I love being a mum!!)

Friday of week five was surprise day, we kept the children and Harry’s best friend waiting all day to find out what we were going to be doing and the suspense nearly killed them.  They all tried to guess what we might be doing and the guesses ranged from going swimming to going to Legoland.  We didn’t tell them but gave them some clues and told them to try to figure it out.  When we were roughly five minutes from our destination Abby suddenly exclaimed “I know where we are going!” She had recognised one of the landmarks from our visit the previous year.  We had driven to Suffolk to a beautiful little village called Thorpeness which I used to visit every year as a child.  We parked the car and walked over to the meare where my Mum, Brother and his girlfriend were waiting.  We set our blankets down and waited for it to get dark.  Inevitably it started to rain (well this is an English summer after all) so we sat under umbrellas eating our chips, talking and reminiscing about summers long gone and as dusk fell the excitement in the air grew.  My brother’s girlfriend and Harry’s best friend had never been before so didn’t know what to expect.  Soon it was dark, the music started and from across the meare little lights could be seen.  One by one, floats that had been decorated by the locals were pushed round the meare for us to see and we joked that this was the nearest thing the UK had to the Electrical Water Pageant!  The floats were moored and the sky lit up with fireworks and we watched a wonderful display over the meare.  I oohed and aahed with the children and got a little lump in my throat as I thought about how lucky we were to experience something so magical – not everyone gets to mark the end of summer with a floating carnival and fantastic fireworks.  As we drove home three children snored gently in the back of the car – another successful day I think!

And so week six starts, the uniforms are ironed, new shoes are polished and everything has a name label on it.  The summer is almost over – or is it?  There’s one more huge surprise for the kids to come, check back here next week to find out what happened……….

How has your summer been?  What have been your highs and lows?  I’d love to hear all about it!

See ya real soon!

About Family Heights

Married to the love of my life and mum to two beautiful children. Blogging about all sorts of stuff that makes me happy. A Formula One fan and a self confessed Disney Addict!
This entry was posted in Family/Holiday/Disney, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s 104 days of summer vacation….

  1. Sounds like you had lots of fun with the children over the summer. And you know I’ve spent my summer planning and daydreaming of a certain special place 🙂

Leave a Reply

