Hakuna Matata

Hi everyone!

At the end of my last post I hinted at a big surprise for the kids that was coming up in the last few days before school, well it ended up being two big surprises and a truly fantastic end to the school holidays……

On Thursday last week my Mum and I took the kids and two of their friends up to London, they had no idea where we were going or what we were going to do.

We headed into Leicester Square and visited M&M World.  When I had originally suggested this idea to Mum she had laughed it off and said that there was no way it would entertain the kids and all they would want to do would be to buy over priced items.  Mum was wrong! (Well maybe not about the buying stuff!)

We spent approximately two hours in M&M World – it was so much fun!  The kids had their picture taken with various M&M characters including a knight, a princess and the M&M version of The Beatles.  Yes they all wanted to buy something but they were all sensible and chose something small in size and value.  I think Mum enjoyed it in here as much as the kids did!

We came out of the store and met up with Mark and my Step-Dad who had both been at work during the day, and headed to a rather well-known fast food chain for a bite to eat.

After our meal we decided to walk to Covent Garden and we made the kids believe that we were going to go and watch some of the street performers for a while.

We got to Covent Garden and I came up with various excuses as to why we couldn’t stop and watch each performer, they ranged from ‘there’s nowhere to sit’ to ‘I think there’s a better one round the corner.’ We walked through Covent Garden and stopped on a side street near the Lyceum Theatre.  I said to the kids that there wasn’t much else to do so should we all head home as we were a bit tired and four sad faces looked back at me and reluctantly agreed.  Just as they thought we were going I said to them “Or how about we all go and see the Lion King?!”  Well their reaction was fantastic, they all screamed and jumped up and down and kept saying ‘really?!’ over and over again, I have never seen them so happy!

We went into the theatre and the kids all bought a souvenir and then we headed to our seats.  I had booked us seats in the stalls as Mark and I had seen the Lion King on a previous occasion and we always said that if we ever took the children to see it we would only go if we could afford to sit in the stalls.  If you have seen the show you will understand why we wanted these seats, if you haven’t seen it I won’t spoil it for you but would suggest that if you get to see it try to sit in the stalls.

The kids sat on the edge of their seats for the whole show, every now and again Mum would tap me to tell me to look at the wonder on one of their faces.  It was so wonderful to see them so happy.

On the train coming home Abby and Harry told us that it was the best surprise they have ever had, apart from going to Disney World, and when I tucked them into bed Abby whispered in my ear that we were the best parents in the world.

I went to bed with my heart full of love and happiness, nothing makes me happier than seeing my children having fun and that was definitely a fun day!

Our second surprise happened on Saturday when we told the children (just our two this time, no friends included) that we had managed to get some tickets to the Paralympics.  They declared that this was the best week ever!

Olympic Park London 2012

We had a brilliant time wandering around the Olympic Park and then watching the swimming in the Aquatic Centre.  It was an amazing day, the athletes are so awe inspiring and it was a privilege to be able to see them compete.

And so the end of our summer arrived and on Tuesday morning I dropped two very happy children into school and I came home with a small lump of loneliness in my heart, but I know that more fun things are coming up in the next few weeks and this keeps me smiling each day.

See ya real soon!

About Family Heights

Married to the love of my life and mum to two beautiful children. Blogging about all sorts of stuff that makes me happy. A Formula One fan and a self confessed Disney Addict!
This entry was posted in Family/Holiday/Disney, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hakuna Matata

  1. changeforbetterme says:

    Thanks for the follow! Your blog looks so fun. I was to disney in florida many years ago. It is a place to remember! Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

