Reasons To Be Thankful

Firstly let me apologise for the lack of blogging from me in the past few weeks.  There has been a lot going on at home and work and to be honest my heart really hasn’t wanted to write for a while, but today I am back and raring to go!

Last Thursday was Thanksgiving in America and despite not being American we attended a wonderful Thanksgiving meal hosted by my brother and his girlfriend.  It was a fantastic evening, two families sat down to dinner together for the first time and it felt like we had all known each other for years.  There were 16 of us for dinner, the youngest was Harry age 7 and the oldest was my Granddad age 80-something! 

As I looked around the table at all the smiling faces and listened to the conversation and laughter it made me think about what I am thankful for.

I am thankful for my wonderful husband and my two beautiful children, life wouldn’t be worth living if it wasn’t for them.

I am thankful for my family, for having 3 grandparents still alive and well and able to enjoy their great-grandchildren, for my parents and step-parents, my brothers and their girlfriends and for all of my aunts, uncles and cousins, as well as my in-laws and my husband’s family.  How amazing to be surrounded by that much love in my life.

I am thankful for my home, despite having had various issues with leaking water recently I still have a roof over my head and my children are safe and warm in their beds every night.  I might get grumpy with the handprints on the walls or the mud all over the kitchen floor from the weekend’s football match but these are the things that make it a home rather than a house.

I am thankful for my friends – those friends who can tell just by looking at me that I’m not having a good day, those friends who put an arm round me and hold me while I sob out all of my sadness and troubles.  They are all people who pick me up when I’m down and who hold my hand through the rough times – they are a wonderful support system.  My friends who I only get to  talk to via email, Facebook or Twitter from all across the world, they teach me about life from all different perspectives and they make me think differently about things.

Lastly I am thankful for my love of Disney.  I know this sounds silly but Disney makes me feel happy, Disney songs remind me of good times and perk my mood up, Disney movies give me the opportunity to cuddle on the sofa with my kids and Walt Disney World gives me the opportunity to make so many memories with my family.

What are you thankful for?

See ya real soon!

About Family Heights

Married to the love of my life and mum to two beautiful children. Blogging about all sorts of stuff that makes me happy. A Formula One fan and a self confessed Disney Addict!
This entry was posted in Family/Holiday/Disney and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reasons To Be Thankful

  1. Good to have you back, I know what it’s like when those blog posts don’t want to appear!!
    I’m thankful for Walt and his legacy; he has brought so much joy and strength into my life 🙂

Leave a Reply

