Magic Moment 03.06.13

My Magic Moment this week is actually a whole week of ‘moments’ rolled into one.

Last week was half term and for the first time in almost 3 years I only had my children at home – hooray!  A few months ago I made a big decision to change my career, so I stopped childminding and got a job working in a high school and right now I can honestly say it’s one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

Anyway, back to last week, now I’m not one to ensure that my children have activities planned for every day of the school holidays because a) I don’t want them turning into spoilt brats who expect to be constantly entertained with expensive activities and b) my bank account simply doesn’t have the funds for that sort of lifestyle, but I did have a couple of things planned.

We started off the bank holiday weekend with a visit to Suffolk with my brother and his girlfriend to do some crabbing (we caught 45 before releasing them all), followed by some fish and chips on the beach and a walk along the coast. Sunday was a lazy day, we did a bit of gardening but not a lot else.  Monday was the bank holiday and we were all at home so we did what every family does on a bank holiday – D.I.Y (only a little bit, it didn’t take all day thankfully) and then we just had some family time.

Tuesday was fairly uneventful for me but the children had a great time playing out on their bikes with their friends – I love that they are old enough now to have a little bit of freedom to go out and play (although I’m totally neurotic so they have to stay together and reply to my frequent text messages!)

Wednesday was rubbish weather wise so we decided to pay a visit to the cinema.  I used some of my Tesco Clubcard vouchers so it felt like a free trip (as opposed to the £26 it would have cost for the three of us to go – I’m sure it was only £3.50 when I was a kid??) We saw Epic and I have to say that we were completely underwhelmed by this movie, I know we are in a minority here as most people have said they loved it but it really was lacking something for us (really glad I didn’t pay £26 to watch it!)

Magic Moments 3.6.13

Thursday we decided to have a day out in London and we chose the Victoria and Albert Museum as our destination.  I was quite pleased about this as we have done the Natural History Museum and the Science Museum to death, but I was worried that the children would be bored within minutes.  I couldn’t have been more wrong!  This museum was amazing, there was so much to see and on several occasions the children said ‘wow’ as they saw paintings or frescoes (the room full of sculptures did bring out the ridiculous in them and they were giggling like crazy at the ‘rude parts’ – their words not mine, so we left that area rather quickly!)  There were so many hands on activities for them to take part in too, they tried on costumes, built a miniature Crystal Palace and did brass rubbings just to name a few.

After we had seen everything we wanted to see in the V & A we opted to pop next door to the Natural History Museum for the last couple of hours before closing.  I decided to treat the children to a visit to the butterfly garden which was lovely but I’m not sure it warranted the £13.50 entry fee.  Next up we went for the obligatory viewing of the dinosaurs – there was a huge queue for this and it took quite some convincing but eventually I agreed to join it.  Thankfully it moved quite quickly and we were soon in with the dinos, but it was so hot and slow-moving I thought I was going to pass out!  Eventually we made our way  past the T-Rex and quickly went through the rest of the exhibit and made our way to ‘Cocoon.’

This was lovely as there was hardly anyone in there.  We took our time and learned lots about nature and what we can do to help it.  There were lots of areas in here for the children to do things and they had a great time.

All too soon the museum was closing, so we headed out and made our way to meet up with Mark who was driving back from Wiltshire where he had been with work.  We had a bite to eat together and then drove home via central London to look at some of the sights.  It was a lovely end to a lovely day.

The rest of the week was a mix of the children playing with their friends, gardening, more D.I.Y and lots of family time – watching movies and playing board games.  It was the most relaxing but fun school holiday that I have had in ages and I can’t wait for the next one!

As always my thanks goes to Jaime over at www.theoliversmadhouse.co.uk for organising this linky.

What’s been your Magic Moment this week?

See ya real soon!

About Family Heights

Married to the love of my life and mum to two beautiful children. Blogging about all sorts of stuff that makes me happy. A Formula One fan and a self confessed Disney Addict!
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Family/Holiday/Disney, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Magic Moment 03.06.13

  1. Jaime Oliver says:

    wow you crammed in so much!! i love weeks like this. thanks for linking up with #magicmoments x

  2. Wow, it sounds like you all had a wonderful week Sam, love it! I agree about not always having to go somewhere that costs money just to make the kiddos happy. Some of our most favorite times together as a family are when we hit the park then walk to the lake to feed the ducks♥ These are the moments they will remember forever! Your two sound like mine though, they would be laughing at the “rude parts” to 🙂 I can just imagine how that went over 🙂 I hope your summer continues on to be this great!

    Suz

Leave a Reply

